Diversity Scholarship

Bedford/St. Martin’s, a leading publisher of textbooks in the field of technical communication in conjunction with the organization sponsors the diversity scholarship(s) to support CPTSC’s goal of increasing diversity in its membership and in the field of technical, professional, and scientific communication. Winners of the scholarship are chosen by the Diversity Committee.

2014 Diversity Scholarship winner, Isidore Dorpenyo

2014 Winner, Isidore Dorpenyo

Eligible candidates for this scholarship include graduate students whose race, ethnicity, disability, sexual orientation, and/or nationality are underrepresented in the technical communication field.

The scholarship is provided to assist the recipient with expenses associated with the CPTSC conference, up to the amount of the scholarship.

The $1500 ($350 scholarship from Bedford/St. Martin’s,  an additional $150 supplement from an anonymous donor, and $1000 from CPTSC) is awarded to one or two winners. The diversity scholarship winners also receive a complimentary conference registration and one-year membership in CPTSC.

The call for applications for the diversity scholarship is typically released in the Spring term immediately following the release of the call for proposals for the annual conference.


Applicants should satisfy all of the following criteria for the scholarship:

  • be a full or part-time graduate student (NOTE: Applicants are eligible for the scholarship if they are graduate students at the time of the conference at which the scholarship is given.)
  • be enrolled in a technical, professional, or scientific communication graduate program
  • attend the current year annual meeting of CPTSC to receive the scholarship
  • be a member of a traditionally under-represented group (racial, ethnic, and/or LGBTQ), or
  • be a person with “a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits a major life activity” (Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990), or
  • be an international student from a nation that is under-represented in the technical communication field.

Selection Factors

The scholarship will be given to the graduate student(s) who best meets the eligibility criteria and who exhibits the most potential in the field of technical, professional, and scientific communication in his or her studies and research, as determined by the Diversity Scholarship review panel.


Deadline announcements will be posted to this page as they are determined


If you have any questions, please contact us.

Past Recipients of the Diversity Scholarship


Alicia Hatcher, East Carolina University
Christopher Morris, The Ohio State University


Errol Rivers, University of Memphis
Baily Cundiff, Texas Tech University


Angela Shaffer, Texas Tech
Jamal Alexander, East Carolina

David Young, Texas Tech
Keshab Acharya, Michigan Tech

Laura Gonzalez, Michigan State
Isafor Kaful Dorpenyo, Michigan Tech

Therese Pennell, East Carolina University

Flourice Richardson, Illinois State University

Joseph Dawson, East Carolina University

Janie Santoy, Texas Tech University

None awarded

Roxane Gay, Michigan Tech